Movie Review: The Sun is also a Star (2019 film)

Hi everyone, It’s another day for me to share my thoughts on a movie I’ve watched and listen to yours😊..So let’s get right to it….

The 2019 American teen drama film, The Sun is also a star is a movie adaptation of the book with the same title written by the same author, Nicola Yoon who also wrote the book, Everything, Everything which also hit the screens as a romance movie in 2017. The Sun is also a Star is directed by RY Russo Young, written by Tacy Oliver and produced by Warner Bro’s Pictures and Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures.. The 100-minute movie was released in theatres on May 17, 2019. Starring in this movie are the Black-ish’s Yara Shahidi and Riverdale’s Charles Melton as the lead cast, alongside Gbenga Akinnabe, Jake Choi, John Leguizamo, Miriam Hyman, Keong Sim and Cathy Sim among others.

Yara Shahidi
Charles Melton
Gbenga Akinnabe
Miriam Hyman
John Leguizamo

Black-ish‘s Shahidi is Natasha Kingsley, a high school junior about to be sent back to her parents’ native Jamaica, even though she’s spent more than half her life in New York City; Riverdale star Melton is Daniel Bae, a senior struggling to fulfill his immigrant parents’ dream that he’ll go to Dartmouth and become a doctor, when all he wants to do is write poetry.She’s a skeptic with a secret love of astronomy; he’s a romantic who likes to lay around reading Walt Whitman while his abs ripple. Will these crazy kids ever come together?

Yes, about 10 minutes in, and Daniel promises her that it’s meant to be. He also swears he can make her fall in love with him in a day, though that’s less time than she has before she leaves the city forever. Reluctantly, she agrees to fit his love experiment in around her last-ditch efforts to save her family from deportation.

Okay, that’s the story basically… So now, this movie has it’s positive and negative side, just like any other movie. So let me start off with the positive side..First, the title. When i saw the title, it reminded me that actually, the sun is a star, the greatest star at that…and then into the movie, Natasha, who is a scientist and is very much interested in astronomy, makes some comments on the sun, saying It’s the greatest symbol of hope, which I agree with. The movie also tries to explore aspects of racial conflict and cultural assimilation as Natasha Daniel is a black girl from Jamaica and Daniel Bae is white from South Korea, which are two very different cultures and races. This goes to show that true love doesn’t care about racial differences.

Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton, the leads are both charming and gorgeous to look at, their chemistry is very nice and would most likely wow hopeless romantics😅. The beautiful city of New York is another thing for me in this movie.. Very nice setting..

But then, This movie is so predictable, like any other cliche teen romance. Two people meet and magically fall in love in one day..24 hours… I was not comfortable with that at all… At all… Even as both of them had very important activities that could change the rest of their lives to do on that day… The romance was just too rushed for me. There were too many coincidences and I didn’t like it… The movie was so unrealistic and over the top for me. This scenario definitely cannot happen in our today’s world.

If you enjoy watching any type of romantic movies, no matter how typical and over-the-top they’d seem, then you could go watch The Sun is also a Star, but if you can’t stand them, Don’t stress yourself because you would not enjoy this movie. Personally, I’d give this movie a 3 out of 5 stars.

What do you think? Have any objections? You’ve watched the movie and you feel my thoughts are not right? Please let me know through your comments…. I’d be glad to hear them…Thank you for reading 🤗.. Have a wonderful week ❣️

10 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Sun is also a Star (2019 film)

  1. You know the best thing about a good critic? Honesty! Saying it as you see it regardless of how it may look to someone else. It’s makes your readers trust you cos they know you’re not bullshitting us here…

    Anyways… is NYC your fav city? (I’m curious). Plus, I haven’t watched the movie… but I think I may when I do get the time.

    So hi… your teacher (Gandu) made me read all your post and I did!!! And didn’t regret it… so get on it!! The best thing about blogging is that you can never do it wrong!
    Just do it your way, know the game and always be consistent!

    Good luck, Love ❤️

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot Sharon🤗😊..
      I’m happy you didn’t regret reading through..
      And although I’ve not been to New York City yet, from what I’ve read and seen, the city looks like a very wonderful place to be.
      Thanks again 🤗❣️

      Like

  2. Okay, I have also gone through the review. I haven’t really watched the movie and so in that regard I wouldn’t use your review as substitute. In other words, I would want a first hand experience for me self.. Till then !! Expect my return 😂😂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started