Movie Review: A Walk to Remember

Hi😊, Today, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on an old but unforgettable and remarkable romcom movie in the history of romcoms… I’ll try as much as i can not to include any spoilers.. But forgive me if i doπŸ˜……So lets get to it..

The Movie, A Walk to Remember is a 102-minute, 2002 American coming-of-age romantic drama film directed by Adam Shankman and written by Karen Janszen, based on Nicholas Sparks’ 1999 novel of the same name. Shot in the United States, the film stars Shane West, Mandy Moore, Peter Coyote and Daryl Hannah, and was produced by Denise Di Novi and Hunt Lowry for Warner Bros. Pictures.

Mandy Moore
Shane West
Peter Coyote
Daryl Hannah

Mandy Moore and Shane West star as high school seniors Jamie and Landon. Landon, the directionless but glamorous bad boy in Beaufort, spends most of his time with friends, partying and pumping up their own egos. After one of their pranks seriously injures a boy, Landon’s sentence is to tutor a disadvantaged kid, sweep up, and star in the school play. Landon keeps running into Jamie, the Reverend’s daughter, a plain, Bible-toting girl who always wears the same sweater and does not care what other people think about her. He asks her for help learning his lines. When he sees her for the first time on opening night, all dolled up to play a nightclub singer it turns out that she is very pretty. He finds himself drawn to her, and, through her, drawn to a better notion of his own potential.

Okay, that’s a short summary of the movie.. Now, the lead characters in this movie are incredibly compelling especially Mandy Moore who acts the character of Jamie Sullivan. She serves as a source of inspiration in the movie and even the audience. Her father, Peter Coyote, is a Reverend of the Baptist Church but this is not actually what defines her faith. She believes in God and spread the message of hope. Even as she gets bullied and laughed at by the other kids in school coupled with the fact that she has terminal Leukamia ( which she keeps a secret for a long time), she doesn’t let this stop her from being her and changes Landon for the very best, hence witnessing the miracle she always wanted to, before she diesπŸ˜“πŸ€§.

Another very interesting thing for me in this movie is the chemistry between Jamie and Landon, as they start off from being enemies to being inseparable. This is a story about people with directly opposite characters and personalities being attracted to each other and for some reason, I enjoy this kind of stories. The chemistry between Landon Carter and Jamie Sullivan is so pure, innocent, and sweet. Their journey together gets more interesting as the story develops but Jamie finally dies, making the story a tragic one. I didn’t have tears running down my eyes when I watched this movie as I do with other tragic movies though. It was more of an inspiration, the character of Jamie to be specific, was more of an inspiration to me. They do things the right way and make each other better persons than they were before they met each other. I’m a Christian and I believe this is the way God intends these things to be. The fact that they remain pure and do not engage in pre-marital sex until they get married goes to show that Love does not and should not be all about sex. There should be more to relationships than that. Landon is now a better person as a result of his relationship with Jamie and this should be the bulk of what relationships should focus on instead of just the pleasure.

Okay.. Yeah, you get it, Jamie is my favorite character in the movie. Tell me yours, through your comments. I’d be happy to hear them. So, with all these, I’d give this movie a five out of five star rating and I’d recommend it to any romcom fan and even just anybody. Anybody and Everybody could go watch this movie.. Teenagers, Young Adults, Old people, The movie is okay for anyone to go watch…

Please let me know what you think through your comments. How did you feel watching the movie and what do you think? You’ve not watched the movie? Please do. You just finished reading and you feel I’m wrong somewhere? Although this is my opinion, I’d be happy to listen to you. Endeavor to mind your language while expressing yourself though. Thanks for reading and if you enjoyed reading, please like and share this post. You can also subscribe to receive newly published reviews in your inbox. Thanks again..Have a wonderful week ahead πŸ€—β£οΈ

10 thoughts on “Movie Review: A Walk to Remember

  1. Okay, here I am again !😊😊
    I in person haven’t watched the movie so I don’t have anything to say for or against this review. Well, all I can say is the work is good. Good penmanship amaka.
    Just a little advice. Don’t put your evaluation into cold storage, readers don’t always have the luxury of time to go through the whole review.
    You can, atleast, provide them(us) with your evaluation at the beginning of your reviews. This art of making reviews is flexible and dynamic, and as such, doesn’t have laid down rules.
    Don’t always reserve your personal opinion for the concluding paragraph …

    Yours Chum chum 😊😊

    Like

    1. Thank you Chum Chum 😊…
      Please do get back to me after you’ve watched the movie… I’d love that 😊
      And for your observations, Noted!
      Thank you very much πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started